3: An update on #CarriesLifeMatters

#CarriesLifeMatters is the name for my experiences with having anxiety and depression. Check the first one and second. I’m back with the jumpoff.

*Sigh* being this transparent is hard. I’m not good at discussing my feelings. But you all have such kind words for me and I know that it is God’s plan that I share my struggles with mental health. I hope that what I say helps somebody.

I’m better. I’m still living at my mom’s most of the time but I get to Louisville and putting my big toe in the water on living alone again. I’m not ready to live on my own yet.

I’m not ready because when I do struggle with my anxiety, it’s bad. My anxiety is starting to make me physically sick and when I’m in ‘recovery’ I’m exhausted, dizzy, and get the shakes. I had an episode last Saturday night/Sunday morning. Today (Monday, which is last Monday at the time), I slept the whole day. I tried to wake up but my body/mind wasn’t having it.

The shakes are something that have just happened recently. My hands are shaky after bad anxiety. I just spilled sugar all in my momma’s kitchen when making cereal (Don’t tell her).  Because of my episode I was ready to come home Sunday but was too tired to drive. That’s when I realized I’m not ready to be on my own….. YET.

tom-and-jerryAnother issue is I hold alot of my feelings in. I’m doing better because I made a commitment to write about my feelings often. But old habits die hard, I still bottle things up; The bottle gets full and I explode. I have trained myself to hold things in because I internalized the idea that showing emotions and being vulnerable was weak. I don’t wanna look weak. Plus, I don’t think I was ever taught how to express my emotions. I try to put it all in the music these days. I’m writing a lot of lyrics and picked up the guitar picking keys back up soon.

I internalized the idea that there was no room for progress when emotions are involved. It made me a bad leader when it came to working with people when I did events. I had a very ‘F your feelings’ attitude and I lost people because of it. I had enemies when I had my corporate jobs. I didn’t consider people’s feelings. We getting the work done or nah? I straight up said in a meeting once, “Yall aren’t my friends. I don’t care how you feel.”

Feelings do matter. Emotions don’t make you weak. They make you human. This is my current mantra because I still have trouble believing that emotions are ok in my heart.

Lastly, I feel disconnected socially. God has shown me that this is a season of working on Carrie. He’s taken away some people. I think because I relied too much on them. I don’t have beef with anyone but some friendships just tend to fade away and I tend to be less tolerant of people and their antics. Ever since I eliminated my own father from my life. I’m not tolerating anybody’s foolery. It doesn’t feel good. I miss a few people. I feel like an outcast at times but I do understand that this is just a season and God must have some amazing people in store for me next season.

I’m giving up Facebook for personal use for lent. I think I decided around Valentine’s Day. It soooo messed me up. All those couples and carrying on while I’m single just… disgusted me. That sounds horrible, I know. I’m not bitter per se. I WANT to be single and I think monogamy is something I ain’t gonna master (I like 2 or 3, sue me) but this world can be very couple centered and be having me think something is wrong with me.

kait1It seems like everyone my age is getting married/having babies and my biggest concern is finding a lighter. (Ain’t nothing worse than rolling up only to find out a lighter ain’t around!) My brother having a baby (pictured to your left) did not help my feelings at all. If someone likes his ole raggedy ass enough surely I can get chose. (Joking)

Again, thank you all soooooo much for your support of my blog. The conversations that grow from these seeds save me. I wish I could properly express my gratitude.

Lent Week 1 Coming Wednesday ❤

-CGW

 

 

One thought on “3: An update on #CarriesLifeMatters

  1. Kiava says:

    You make me want to blog. I can only hope my musings are as transparent and eloquent.

    -Petty Boop (as names by THE Petty LaBelle)

Leave a Reply

