Get Out Blessed My Soul

Spoiler Alert: If you haven’t seen the movie, this has spoilers so come back after you go see it.

When I was too damn young I saw Chucky and didn’t do horror movies for awhile. I discovered my love for horror in my late teens. I still don’t do Chucky or any type of dolls or puppets but I enjoy a good slasher film or an exorcism film, I believe in them spirits honey.

get-out-3When I saw the previews for Get Out and saw that Jordan Peele was the director, I was confused. I’m a big fan of Key and Peele and I was like is this gonna be a comedy? Like a Scary Movie type film? I underestimated Jordan. Just ’cause you a comedian don’t mean you can’t do horror evidently. Don’t let ’em put you in a box. Message!

I have long had a desire for a black horror movie. I knew neither Spike or Tyler would be able and I knew that one by a white director would be a swing and a miss. Get Out was a breath of fresh air.

Can I be honest? Seeing a black man brutally kill a bunch of white people on a big screen was GREAT. It was even greater when I got in the lobby and saw the expressions on the white people’s faces. The show I was in was probably half black and half white. We APPLAUDED with every family member he killed. I mean a round of applause, girl. I ain’t cheered that hard since the 2013 March Madness. UofL Basketball, men AND women. OOOOHHHHHHHH C-A-R-D-S!

I know that sounds horrible but after a life time of seeing black men killed in REAL life. A film such as this is refreshing.

I believe this film was so great because of Jordan’s perspective. As a biracial person (black dad, white mom) he probably knows both cultures well. I learned plenty of stuff about white people that I didn’t know.

One, the white girl went OFF on that police officer and he didn’t do nothing! I’ve talked to a police officer like that. I was put in handcuffs.

Two, white people still got ‘help’ in 2017. I didn’t know people still had a black woman pouring them tea on Saturday afternoon. When  get my money right, my staff is going to be all white… nice whites like the ones at Chick Fila. My way to balance the universe.

Three, white parents let spouses sleep in the bed. I had a whole conversation about this on Facebook. It’s not going down in Lisa’s house. You can’t spend the night much less in my bed. You can probably get the couch or air mattress. I haven’t brought anybody home to Lisa yet. But my brother has a whole baby and him and his woman don’t leave the living room or kitchen. My white friends on Facebook was like ‘yea, i slept in bed with my boyfriend after high school.’ I am still appalled.

rod-get-outLet’s talk about homeboy!  Rod played by LilRel Howery played Chris’ homeboy. We all need a friend that will investigate and add some shit up. He TOLD Chris not to go to that white woman’s house and then Chris ass didn’t answer the phone for a few days. He went to the cops (one played by Erika Alexander, Maxine Shaw who hasn’t aged at all) and they laughed. Rod had the courage to get in his TSA vehicle and do some investigation. Would I have driven into white people woods for my friend? Not unarmed… I wouldn’t have.

I appreciate the film so much because it was honest. White people crazy. My homegirl asked if I knew the girlfriend was in on it. I said “of course, every white person is in on it.”

Furthermore, the film allowed a black man to be scared and not scary. Chris’ character had some stuff to deal with from his child hood and black characters, (especially male) don’t always get that humanity extended to them. We get to see Viola Davis ass cry and snot every film. When’s the last time you saw a 20 something black man cry on a movie?

Finally what I most appreciate about this film is that the racism wasn’t overt (well, at first) these were regular, nice liberal white people who voted for Obama and would again. White people like that can distance themselves from the KKK and Nazis therefore distancing themselves from racism or the moral responsibility to fight it. Chris was JUST AS uncomfortable around these nice white people and I’d argue those nice white people needed a reality check. Obama and Hill or not, yall still can make us hella uncomfortable.

So Get Out gets two thumbs up from me. I will never watch Birth of a Nation again but I plan on having Get Out and Moonlight in heavy rotation for movie nights. Who comin’ over for Black Films and Chill?

-CGW

 

 

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

