#WisdomWednesday Tips for new college students.

Hello babies. In honor of Welcome Wknd at my school and all ‘at I’m going to provide tips for college freshman. I went to college straight out of high school so this will be targeted at them, but I hope non-traditional students can find help from this list as well, cause there’s a good number at my school.

1. Go to class. I know you may be like “but Kidd, of course I’m a go to class, i’m a student.” No, you aren’t You’ll get in a class with 200 people that’s a dry ass 90 minute lecture and realize that the notes you need for the test are online. You won’t see the point of going. Go anyway. If you have a C at the end of the semester, the professor might bump it up to a B cause you showed up to their boring ass lectures.

When I was a freshman on campus, I had an 8am class on the other side of campus. It got to snowing, I got to partying, and half-assed went. It was a math class at that. I need that credit to graduate. I’m a senior with no math credit. You don’t want to end up like me!

2. Get in an organization. Get in 3 organizations. Are you an aspiring Journalist? Join NABJ, an engineer? NSBE… You get out of your college experience what you put in. If there isn’t an organization for your particular need, start one. Some friends and I started an organization for LGBT students of color. It’s been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

These are also great Networking opportunities. You link up with like-minded people in your field. It’s very important for your name to be out there in this economy. You will also most likely need an internship to graduate. I worked for a political firm ran by two friends of mine. I’m on a first name basis with the mayor, council members and judges.

3. Get your text books for cheap. Don’t bend over and let the campus bookstore rape you. The textbook industry is trying to take as much money from you as it can. Amazon.com, Half.com, Belltowerbooks.com are all great resources for text books for cheap. Rent the books you won’t need, buy the books for your major.

4. Make friends with an upper classmen. This will happen naturally in your organizations, for example. Don’t go up to an old looking nigga and be like ‘can I be yo friend?’ lmao. It’s important to have an upper class men on your team because they’ll tell you what professors to take or not take and where not to eat on campus..

5. Don’t go home every weekend. College is intimidating. You’ll want to go home every weekend if you are away from home, but don’t… because one, you won’t study at home and there’s no room for growth if you’re still in the same place with the same people. You have to learn to be independent. Don’t take ya laundry home to your momma every weekend.

6. Budget. If you’re a genius like me, you’ll have a couple scholarships, state and federal money. This will cover your tuition and maybe room and board if so, you could be left with a couple stacks or more. You’ll want to make it rain. Don’t go on a shopping spree like I did, buy your text books, give that 10% to Jesus and donate to Obama’s campaign. After that, chill so you won’t be struggling by December. Also, don’t get a credit card. That will fuck up your credit. Plenty of people will be sending you shiny credit cards and shit.  Banks target dumbass 19 year olds, then abuse you when you ain’t got the money to pay on that credit card. Just don’t do it.

7. Party! But not too much. This is the first time you’re away from home. You gonna wanna party, do it. BUT don’t party the night before a big test.There’s a party every wknd. I was in college when Obama won. We partied every day of the damn week when he got elected. There are plenty chances to party. You are in school to graduate, not party. Your degree is priority. If your ass needa be in a book instead of the club… Get in them pages.

8. Exercise. The freshman 15 is real. There’s so much free horrible food on campus, and you’re going to grab whatever is convenient when you are thrown into academia that demanding. I’ve probably gained more like 30 lbs since I’ve been in college. You probably have free access to your gym on campus since you’re a student. You pay for the service so use it. Take a book with you to the treadmill. I used to racquetball and practice with the girl’s bball team. I dunked on ’em too! (in my mind)

9. An Open mind. If you ain’t going to seminary some damn where, you’re going to be exposed to alot of different people, different races, religions. Gay people. Atheists. Muslims. Vegans. All ‘at. Every stereotype you have about a certain group of people, get that image out of your mind. Don’t write somebody off ’cause they are different. Intellectuals are smarter than prejudice.

10. Share your knowledge. Not everyone can get a college education. Share that knowledge, volunteer with middle school kids, join Big Bros Big Sisters, you’ll probably need Community Service hours for a scholarship you have. You are an asset to your community with that degree and you have a social responsibility. Remember where you came from. Go back and make the ‘hood better!

Alright, that concludes Kidd-o’s list for the freshmensss. Feel free to add your tips in the comment box. If you read this whole thing, share it with a friend. Thank you for reading. Tweetchaboy *Zay Zay voice* @collegekidd

I didn’t come up with this list on my own. I had plenty of friends contribute via Fbook and Twitter, Traci, Joy, Tunisha (now, stop reading and go write), Alex, Eric, Maryam… if I missed you, I’m sorry. I love yall ass tho.

Peace

-CK

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

